Live videos sent via Direct Message can only be viewed while the live video is ongoing -i it’s not watchable after streaming has concluded.
When you’re live, just tap the Direct icon at the bottom of the screen and send your live video to friends. You’ll also have this option when going live with a friend. Once sent, the recipient will see your live video in their Direct inbox. Friends can only view your video if you’re currently live. If your live video is over, your friend will see a message saying the video has ended.
Those who do not want to send live videos to friends in Direct can disable the option in the stories settings.
Instagram says the new live video feature is designed to make it easier for people to watch and send live videos to friends, and it comes as Instagram tests a standalone direct messaging app with a small number of users in Chile, Israel, Italy, Portugal, Turkey, and Uruguay.
Instagram can be downloaded from the App Store for free. [Direct Link]